/ /

How to Save Scripts and Cookies to Rules

Updated 28 days ago

When reviewing discovered cookies and scripts in Osano, classifying them is just the first step. To ensure your updates are saved in the system and managed by Osano.js, you must save each item from Discoveries to Rules. This is what tells Osano to actively manage the item based on your classification and the user's consent.

If you skip this step, items will not be properly managed:

In Discovery/Listener Mode or Permissive Mode, unsaved items are treated as Essential and will be allowed to run — even if they're non-essential, like analytics or advertising scripts. This can lead to compliance issues.

In Strict Mode, unsaved items are blocked entirely, even if they are essential for site functionality. This can lead to the site not functioning properly.

image.png

How to Save Items to Rules

After assigning a classification, vendor, expiration (only for cookies), and disclosure status (only for cookies), save the item to ensure it's managed by Osano.js.

There are two ways to save items from Discoveries to Rules:

Option 1: Review

Each discovered item has a Review option on the far right of its row. Click it to open that item and classify it with a Rule.

image.png

Option 2: Add a Manual Rule

You can also manually add rules without needing a discovery using the purple + button .

image.pngimage.png

Important Notes

  • When saving scripts and cookies to Rules, you will also need to use the Publish button in order to push these classification updates live to your website.

  • Once saved to Rules, items will be governed by classification rules and reflected in your published configurations. If you need to remove an item from Rules, simply delete it from within the Rules section. Osano will rediscover it the next time it loads on your site, assuming no classification rules still apply.

  • You can also adjust any items in Rules by going to the Rules section and clicking Edit on the item itself. From there, you can alter the rule, classification, vendor, expiry (for cookies only), or disclosure status at any time by adjusting those values and then clicking the save button.

  • Only Admins and Consent Managers have permission to save items to Rules.

Was this article helpful?
Subscribe to receive updates on this article